close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Don't Stop Reading Book Club

Don't Stop Reading Book Club

2022-08-09 19:00:00 2022-08-09 20:30:00 America/Regina Don't Stop Reading Book Club Engage in a discussion of Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts. Come prepared for a lively discussion. Sherwood Village Branch - SV-1

Tuesday, August 09
7:00pm - 8:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-08-09 19:00:00 2022-08-09 20:30:00 America/Regina Don't Stop Reading Book Club Engage in a discussion of Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts. Come prepared for a lively discussion. Sherwood Village Branch - SV-1

Engage in a discussion of Finding Dorothy by Elizabeth Letts. Come prepared for a lively discussion.

This is an in-person program.  Do not attend if you are feeling unwell.

This richly imagined novel tells the story behind The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, the book that inspired the iconic film, through the eyes of author L. Frank Baum's intrepid wife, Maud. Hollywood, 1938: As soon as she learns that M-G-M is adapting her late husband's masterpiece for the screen, seventy-seven-year-old Maud Gage Baum sets about trying to finagle her way onto the set. Nineteen years after Frank's passing, Maud is the only person who can help the producers stay true to the spirit of the book--because she's the only one left who knows its secrets. But the moment she hears Judy Garland rehearsing the first notes of "Over the Rainbow," Maud recognizes the yearning that defined her own life story: from her youth as a suffragette's daughter to her coming of age as one of the first women in the Ivy League, from her blossoming romance with Frank to the hardscrabble prairie years that inspired The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. Judy reminds Maud of a young girl she cared for and tried to help in South Dakota, a dreamer who never got her happy ending. Now, with the young actress under pressure from the studio as well as her ambitious stage mother, Maud resolves to protect her--the way she tried so hard to protect the real Dorothy. Borrow it today! 

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books and Storytelling |

TAGS: | Book Clubs |

Sherwood Village Branch

Phone: 306-777-6000

Hours
Mon, Nov 21 9:30AM to 6:00PM
Tue, Nov 22 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 23 9:30AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 24 9:30AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Nov 25 9:30AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 26 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Nov 27 12:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Sherwood Village Branch is a full-service Branch that offers free public programs for all ages. Visitors to this spacious, sunny branch can expect to find:
A popular collection of books, magazines, newspapers, large print, CDs, DVDs, and graphic novels for adults, teens, and children.
Comfortable seating areas and coffee
A children's play centre with early learning computers
A permanent book sale table
A book drop for items to be returned when the Branch is closed

Upcoming events

Canceled
Sat, Nov 26, 10:30am - 11:00am

Canceled
Sat, Nov 26, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Sun, Nov 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SV-2

Mon, Nov 28, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Wed, Nov 30, 10:00am - 10:30am
SV-2

Wed, Nov 30, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Wed, Nov 30, 1:30pm - 3:30pm
SV-2

Wed, Nov 30, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Sherwood Village Branch

Thu, Dec 01, 10:00am - 10:30am
SV-2

Thu, Dec 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Fri, Dec 02, 10:00am - 10:30am
SV-2

Fri, Dec 02, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Sat, Dec 03, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Dec 03, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Sun, Dec 04, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SV-2

Mon, Dec 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Tue, Dec 06, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
SV-2

Wed, Dec 07, 10:00am - 10:30am
SV-2

Wed, Dec 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Wed, Dec 07, 1:30pm - 3:30pm
SV-2

Wed, Dec 07, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Sherwood Village Branch

Thu, Dec 08, 10:00am - 10:30am
SV-2

Thu, Dec 08, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Fri, Dec 09, 10:00am - 10:30am
SV-2

Fri, Dec 09, 11:00am - 12:00pm
SV-2

Sun, Dec 11, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SV-2

Wed, Dec 14, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Sherwood Village Branch

Sun, Dec 18, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SV-2